Honors and Awards 2017-2018
Honors and Awards 2017-2018
Posted on 10/23/2017


RHS students Jiyoung An and Noah D. Bronowich have been designated as National Merit Scholarship semifinalists in the 2016 competition. Eighteen others have received letters of commendation, according to district officials.

Commended students are Paul Calvetti, Dhruva M. Chhabra, Luke R. Conenello, William K. Gagan, Audrey S. Gao, Benjamin M. Gluckow, Daniel R. Gnall, Maximillian Horkenbach, Jacqueline Johnson, Kayla L. Kern, Rachel Kim, Joseph O’Keefe, Isaac Peabody, Kumail Raza, Vanita Sharma, Gayeong Song, Lena Yanella, and Bruce Zhang.

About 1.6 million students took the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) last October and entered the National Merit Program, a nationwide competition for recognition and awards.  Only some 16,000 who qualified as semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the competition for Merit Scholarships to be offered next spring.


One hundred thirty-four students at RHS have been named AP Scholars by the College Board in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college level Advanced Placement Examinations. About 18 percent of the more than 1.9 million high school students worldwide who took AP Examinations in May 2016 performed at a sufficiently high level to merit such recognition.

The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on the students’ performance on AP exams. At RHS: 3 students qualified for the National AP Scholar Award by earning an average grade of 4.0 or higher on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams; 47 students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams; 33 students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams; and 54 students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams with grades of 3 or higher. 


photoThe 2017 winner of the coveted Ashby Award is Colleen Gieniec, First Grade Teacher at Somerville Elementary School. Ms. Gieniec has been a teacher for over 35 years, with service in the Ridgewood Public Schools for more than 30 years. Ms. Gieniec has an undergraduate degree from Immaculata University and a Master’s Degree from William Paterson University as a Reading Specialist.

The 2017 Tradition of Excellence Award for Support Staff was presented to Kathy Kiedaisch, recently retired from the Ridgewood Public Schools as Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent. Ms. Kiedaisch was an employee of the district for 31 years, starting at Hawes School then serving as the assistant to three superintendents and four interims over the years. In addition, she was the dedicated Evening Coordinator of the Ridgewood Community School for over 15 years.